On Inauguration Day: A Snowflake’s Perspective…..

The following was begun on Inauguration day as I recorded my thoughts:

So here we are. Most if not all of us didn’t expect this day to ever come. But now that it’s here, what do we do? The first thing I did today after waking up at 8am, even before my feet hit the floor, is to open my devotional app on my phone. The lesson talked about God breathing life into all of us. And used the story of Genesis.

God breathes life. Such a powerful image. An image that transcends the events of today. And lately with each breath, the Lord has given me a spirit of hope. Hope that maybe things won’t be so grim after all.

But I realize that even though I feel a tiny glimmer of hope today, many are feeling despair. My words today are for you. One thing that comes to mind is a video I saw of Betty White this week. Katie Couric was interviewing her on her birthday and asked her what she thought we ought to do in these troubling times as our nation seems to be so divided.

Her response, “There is nothing I can do about that right now but I can do my best in my little circle. So if I do that maybe you’ll do your best and we’ll get through this…..You can’t change this, so just put one foot in front of the other and get through it.”

May I also suggest that when we put one foot in front of the other, if we see others stumbling along the way, that we bend down and pick them up?  Without thought of their background, creed or social status.

And when you are called a “liberal snowflake,” remember this: snowflakes begin their life miles above the earth’s surface. And as they fall they never lose their delicate shape. Even after falling to the ground. And in their singularity, they are one of the most beautiful elements of creation in their intricacy.

And a bunch of snowflakes together? Simply breathtaking.

In the dark of night under a moonlit sky all those snowflakes come together and sparkle.

So for the next 4 years, let’s focus on what we can do….sparkling in the darkness.

And remember dear snowflake, you are never alone. 😉

Cheers!

15540729_10154758486278638_782573610438042049_o

This is a sign I made to hang outside our house as a symbol of hope and peace…….

Leave a Reply

