Snark, Trudeau and the Truth Behind Inspirational Photos…..

Warning: I am feeling particularly snarky today, but decided to blog anyway because sometimes extra snark actually produces brilliance.

I think I read that on a cereal box one time.

Before we get to our topic of the day, here is one giant flaming thing to consider if you ever decide to post an “opinion” on the internet. Now, before I say this, let me clarify that I am a proponent of free speech…..

That said, if your “factually logical” arguments in regards to anything, but specifically the Target debacle, contain holes that I could in theory drive the Starship Enterprise through, I will have no other choice but to call you out. I’m looking at you, Matt Walsh (PS-By the way, you may want to get that thing in your eye checked out and possibly removed. It looks painful).


Now that we have the political rant out of the way, let’s move on….TO CANADA!

Specifically where this photo was captured. (Ok, I can’t just embed the photo, so here is the accompanying article from the Huffington Post):

http://www.huffingtonpost.ca/2014/04/16/justin-trudeau-wheelchair-stairs-montreal-metro_n_5159721.html

For those that want to save the click, the photo shows Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau helping to carry a man in a wheelchair down a broken escalator in a Montreal Metro station.

I originally saw this photo on a page I’m subscribed to on Facebook. Along with this photo on the page were comments such as: “Trudeau is SO dreamy,” “Look at him being such a help. This is great!” (Blogger’s Note: The preceeding comments were heavily paraphrased and do not reflect a word-for-word transcription of the actual comments, although the comments shown here accurately reflect the spirit of the actual comments contained in the original piece.)

Not to completely plow over your feelings of “Yay! We helped” but as I look at this photo, all I can think about as a disabled woman who uses a chair is:

1. Where is the elevator and why wasn’t he using it?

2. Was carrying him down the stairs the only option (why no elevator?) and if that was the case, that is unacceptable.

3. Did the disabled man want to be photographed being helped? And…

4. How did the disabled person feel about getting this help? There have been times honestly when I’ve been helped in this way and on the outside I have been polite and thanked those that helped, but on the inside I’ve wondered “Why haven’t they gotten whatever fixed” Or why didn’t they have an elevator? I do try to be understanding, but there are times that my patience has worn thin.

I remember our Senior Trip (ironically to Canada) and we went to a Broadway-type show. Our tickets had been purchased way before, and when we got there we discovered that our seats were in the balcony, and THEY DIDN’T HAVE AN ELEVATOR!! They did offer to help lift my chair up the stairs……But I just kept thinking, “WHY don’t you have an elevator? Seriously!” I refused their offer to lift me up the stairs because the staircase was winding and I didn’t feel particularly safe with that approach.

Fortunately it was a lighter attended show, so they had seats available on the ground floor that I was able to use and enjoy the show.

So the next time you see a photo of someone helping a person in a wheelchair, after regarding that the person did a good thing, think about why it happened in the first place and maybe brainstorm a few ways to really fix the situation.

Cheers!

4 thoughts on “Snark, Trudeau and the Truth Behind Inspirational Photos…..

  1. Your entry is spot on! And you emphasized well
    5. What about the next person with a disability who needs to go to the lower level platform TOMORROW?? Or the next day…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

