**KA-POW!**

The following story was originally going to be included in my upcoming book, but I’m not sure where it would fit, so I thought I’d share it here.

Glasses. They are not something that all kids want. Especially a kid like me who constantly sat on them where they had to be replaced. With my allowance (Maybe. That part is a bit fuzzy πŸ˜‰ ).

But on this particular night, I was SO thankful that the Lord gave me crappy eyesight in need of glasses.

The year was sometime between 2007 and 2010. I was living in a small apartment in Louisville KY. When I say small, I mean small. My stove and oven unit was the size of a postage stamp. Ok, that was a slight exaggeration, but not too far off.

Anyway, my kitchen counter/sink/stove area was so small I only had one sink to wash and rinse dishes, which didn’t leave much room when dishes piled up……

And washing dishes is not my favorite activity, so they tend to pile up.

The only way I was able to do dishes when I let them pile up, was to put the extra dirty dishes on the stove as I washed them by hand.

One night I needed to use the stove top, so I moved some dishes to the back burner and turned on the front burner to boil water.

Except that the burner I turned on was in the back and under a pile of dishes. I realized this after smelling something weird and realizing what I had done. Without thinking, I began to furiously take each plate off the pile and put it in the sink.

With each plate taken off the burner, the next plate grew progressively hotter, so I started grabbing them at fast as I could.

Big mistake. Big, HUGE mistake.

As I grabbed the last plate to put it in the sink it SHATTERED into my hand, into my face (narrowly missing my eyeballs–Thanks horrible eyesight for shielding my eyes from flying glass with thick a** glasses (Also, thank you dad for my eyesight πŸ˜‰ ) and all over my kitchen floor. (Seriously, I was picking up glass shards in my kitchen for DAYS after “the incident.”)

So kids, if you fail that eye exam and are forced to get glasses, be grateful.

For you will be able to be reckless with plates. Apparently.

Go you!Β  πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

