LAFF: Flash Back Friday: The One Where Lulabelle Falls into a Nostalgic Vortex and Reacts to Jagged Little Pill……

This blog will not necessarily be humorous, but will no doubt fill you with all the feels if you are someone who is in their late 30’s. (Sidenote: Holy*hitballs I’m in my late 30’s!! HOW did this happen??Β  :-O ).

So I’ve been planning this blog since Halloween when I threw on some bunny ears and a flannel shirt and went as a “Grunge Bunny.” This was decided because I had fallen down a 90’s grunge band hole on YouTube and I was having problems crawling back out. To recap, this is what I looked like:

photo-on-2016-10-31-at-23-00

While this picture was being taken, I was listening to notable 90’s bands such as Presidents of the United States, Nirvana and, the woman who started it all off, Alanis Morisette. I found Jagged Little Pill on YouTube and rocked out to the entire album.

For those not lucky enough to come of age in the 90’s let me tell you who Alanis Morisette is. She is THE QUEEN of 90’s angry girl music. (The genre of choice for most if not all popular music in the 90’s. Not sure why you had to be angry, but that was a thing. The only exception to this was The Spice Girls. Who had the following lyrics that, looking back on it now as a **kinda** adult, are pretty sketchy: “If you wanna be my lover, you gotta get with my friends.” Um, what? Yeah, I don’t think that’s how it works, boo πŸ˜› ).

So let’s hop into my WayBack Machine that I got on sale on Ebay and throw it back to the late 90’s……….When I looked like this:

15416834_10157880471120300_1723290328_n

Ah, senior year portraits. When you got all dolled up and the resulting photo still looked like a low budget Glamour Shot. This was also back in the day when I honestly thought my hair looked better short.

I had so much to learn. πŸ˜› I also wore LipSmackers chapstick and GAP perfume in Heaven. Ah, it smelled AMAZING and when I found it online I got excited.

Until I saw the $70 price tag. At that price I should probably try to make it myself.

Also back in the 90’s we drank Fruitopia. Which was basically like a more expensive Snapple with psychedelic packaging. (OK, maybe it’s not exactly psychedelic packaging. My memory didn’t quite fit reality. Remember I’m fast approaching 40! #excuses πŸ˜› πŸ˜€ ).

But back to Alanis Morisette. Like I said she was the QUEEN of angry girl music back in the day. Her album, Jagged Little Pill was a favorite of mine and the other day I found it on YouTube and listened to the entire thing. I never had the actual album, but a friend put it on *tape for me. Which I promptly lost at a Youth Group Lock-In at church.

Yeah. True story. πŸ˜›

As I listened to the music the other day, I had a good laugh. Why?

Because the entire album is so angsty the **kinda** adult in me just had to laugh at the ridiculousness. And this left me wondering if Morisette herself looks back on the album and cringes.

Now comes the part in the blog where I take two of the songs from Jagged Little Pill and react to them. The songs of choice? “You Oughta Know” and the hidden track,”Your House.”

Now back when this album was released, “You Oughta Know” (and some say the entire album) was rumored to be about ex Dave Coulier–yeah, Uncle Joey from Full House. They apparently dated and it did NOT end well.

I still can’t wrap my brain around that one.

“You Oughta Know” is basically a 4 minute song chronicling the reasons why life now sucks because they broke up and he’s with someone new. At one point she gets so angry and passionate she drops an “F” bomb. Now, when this song debuted on the radio, the stations would bleep out the objectionable word by putting in a split second of dead air…..which made it sound as though she burped in the middle of the song. I believed this for an embarrassingly long time.

I also believed that because of this, Morisette was a genius. A long haired, angry, burping genius.

The anger of this song also made it’s way into compliments she gave the “other woman.” For example, at one point as Morisette was lamenting her breakup she began to contemplate the other woman and finally decided, “she’d make a really excellent mother.” Which is a lovely thing to say in the midst of your anger and lament.

The only explanation I have for this is that Morisette is from Canada, so it must be true what they say: All Canadians are polite and nice. Aww!!

Let’s move on to the hidden track. As with all hidden tracks, “Your House” doesn’t begin to play until a few minutes after the last listed song on the album. It’s a haunting acapellaΒ  arrangement continuing on the theme of unrequited love.

And she comes off as the creepiest stalker in the history of ever.

As the song begins, Morisette narrates how she is going through his house and using his stuff, taking a shower in his bathroom, wearing his cologne, and is able to get into his house without ringing the bell. It is not clear, but perhaps implied that the door was unlocked.

Apparently the song took place in 1950’s Mayberry where no one ever locked their doors.

She also stayed all afternoon, so I guess it’s safe to assume this poor guy was on vacation or something, blissfully unaware of the crazy in his house.

And then she starts putting on his clothes. I just can’t decide at what point she went too far. I’m also wondering if viewing an “It Gets Better” video would help her move on. That or a restraining order. I can’t decide which.

And there you have it. Boy, this blog has taken me WAY longer to write and upload then I had anticipated. #ItsNoLongerFriday πŸ˜› So please share the poo outta this one.

Happy weekend!! (Which just ended 10 minutes ago. Oops! πŸ˜› )


*You see kids, before we had CD’sΒ  and MP3 players, we had to listen to music on these flat rectangles called cassette tapes. They had two sides and would quit running at the end of the side, forcing you to manually flip open your cassette player and turn the cassette over to the other side. Fun times.

Leave a Reply

