On Halloween Greediness: Or the One Where I Sound Like Your Crazy Old Lady Neighbor…..

Well that was unexpected. Earlier Sunday evening I had been getting ready to go out with a friend. She was on her way to pick me up, so I unlocked the door and turned on the porch light before going into the bathroom to get ready.

About 10 minutes later, I heard a knock on the door.

“Come on in!” I said.

No response, but the knocking continued.

No problem, I thought. I’ll just call her on my cell phone.

After she answered the phone I said, “Hey, just go ahead and come on in.”

Pause.

“Oh, I’m not there yet. I’m Still on the interstate.”

Um, what?? :-O

Yeah. It was in this moment that I realized I had Trick-or-Treaters at my door and here I was, on the toilet, in no condition to open the door.

And it was the day before the actual Halloween.

And call me paranoid, but I’m pretty sure I heard someone OPEN the storm door!!

What the HECK??

**And now begin the portion of the blog titled, “Old Lady Lulabelle/Get Off My Lawn!”**

Back in my day I never remembered Halloween Trick-or-Treating happening more than 1 NIGHT a year. (And we’d NEVER open a door without permission. πŸ˜› )

ONE. NIGHT.

What is up with this multiple nights of going door to door in costume asking for candy from strangers?? I just don’t get it.

I guess maybe since we only had one neighbor growing up–therefore only Trick-or-Treated at one house (and also rang our own doorbell on the way back πŸ˜‰ ), the thought of going door to door for miles (and days on end) is a bit strange to me.

Or perhaps I’m jealous and lashing out at a childhood bereft of more than one night of candy grabbing merriment a year.

Happy Halloween!

photo-on-2016-10-31-at-23-00

Here is my Halloween costume I DIY’d for passing out candy to little children. I’m no ordinary bunny, I’m a grunge-bunny from the 90’s thanks to a Facebook meme I saw with a Presidents of the United States reference. This led to watching a couple music videos from Nirvana, Beck and Alanis Morisette.

(I also hurriedly crafted a nose and freckles on my face with gold Sharpie that I am praying comes off with regular soap πŸ˜› )

2 thoughts on “On Halloween Greediness: Or the One Where I Sound Like Your Crazy Old Lady Neighbor…..

Leave a Reply

