Goats and Baseball: A Brief History….

As Game 3 of the World Series begins tomorrow and our boys are taking a break to travel today, I thought I’d talk more in depth about why having the Cubs in the World Series is such a big deal. (And if any die hard cubs fans are afraid talking about this will jinx them, forget about it. The curse was broken when they made it to the World Series πŸ˜‰ ).

During this last season, including the playoffs, you have have seen the hashtag: #WeAintAfraidOfNoGoat on the internet and on tee-shirts (sidenote: I really wanted one, but when I looked online and saw they were $25, my Mennonite frugality kicked in and I decided I didn’t need it).

So what is this thing about a goat and why would Cubs fans be afraid of it? To answer that, I need to go way back to 1945 and game 4 of the World Series. According to at least one story I heard, Wrigley Field was having a “Take Your Pet to the Game” Day. I don’t know if I necessarily believe this, but it was 1945 and things were way different.

And I guess its within the realm of possibility.

So Billy Sianis, owner of the Billy Goat Tavern (Hold up! He was the owner of a tavern named BILLY GOAT?? Yeah, we probably should have all seen this coming! πŸ˜€ ) took his goat to the game, and was asked to leave because of the goat’s stench. Of course he took offense at this and uttered the infamous phrase, “Them Cubs, they ain’t gonna win no more!”

And that was it. The Cubs would spend 71 years trying to claw their way back to the Big Dance of Major League Baseball.

And on the anniversary of Mr. Sianis’s death (October 22, 1970), 46 years later, the Cubs finally broke the curse by advancing to the World Series.

And tomorrow night is game three at Wrigley. And so we say with pride: “We ain’t afraid of no goat!”

Go Cubs!

elizabethandme-world-series

Here is a photo taken from our World Series Game 1 Watch Party at our best friend’s house. Their daughter, our niece, could not stop staring at my lucky Cubs necklace.

PS: (Written November 4, 2017) As I was rereading this, I realized what shirt I had on in this photo. A shirt I had worn to watch Game 1.

It had a goat on it.

They lost game 1.

My bad. πŸ˜› πŸ˜€ #TheyDidItAnyway #CursedNoMore

Β 

Leave a Reply

