When You Need an Umbrella And an Ark…….#Bloggertunities

**Blogger’s Note: Because of the busyness of life at the moment, this post took about a week to put together. Please note that the cab AC is now working and my teeth don’t hurt as bad.


Have you ever hear the expression, “When it rains, it pours”? The basic meaning behind this is that when something bad happens in your life, there is more behind it that rains down on you before the clouds finally break and a glorious rainbow emerges.

We are in the middle of the pouring stage and I kinda want to give whomever thought of this catchphrase a piece of my mind….or a well planted kick in the teeth (or an attempted kick. I just turned 37 and my legs don’t have as much range of motion as they did in my 20s 😛 ).

Let me rewind a few years. Yes, years. Don’t worry, I’ll give you the short version 😉 . So a couple years ago our water heater seemed to be close to death. It was leaking and Chad and I began trying to figure out how we were going to pay for another one. Then a few days later, the leaking mysteriously stopped. Feeling like we just got a little bit of relief, we put replacing the water heater on the back burner and focused on other things that needed to be replaced.

This is also something you do quite often as an adult. Delegating crisis severity.

Anyway, our hands-off approach seemed to work for our water heater until the other weekend when water began to leak more freely into the basement. We knew something had to be done. Like that day.

So we enlisted the help of a few amazing friends and set about replacing the water heater. Realizing this was going to be a big purchase, Chad drove our car and our friend drove his truck to pick up our new water heater with the goal of putting the water heater into the truck to bring it back to our house.

And what happened next can only be blamed on Murphy’s Law, and the fact that it’s us.

On the way out from the parking lot in our car, the serpentine belt FELL OUT from underneath our car.

Like, fell out onto the parking lot.

I don’t know much about cars, but apparently the serpentine belt is pretty critical piece of equipment for the operation of the car.

So if you are keeping track, our water heater bit the dust on the SAME DAY our car’s guts literally spilled out onto the parking lot.

*KERSPLAT!!*

Thankfully we were able to replace the water heater without going into debt and have it installed on the same day. Also, having a car die wasn’t a huge deal because we have a back up company car that Chad is allowed to use when he’s not at work.

Can you tell where this is going? Yep.

I’m not exactly sure why the cab stopped running a few days after crisis #’s 1 and 2. According to Chad, something overheated and apparently that’s a bad thing.

So without a car we had to scramble to get a few needed errands done this week. And part of that scramble included walking home from an appointment. I gotta admit this wasn’t too too bad because it was only a couple of blocks and it was a beautiful day.

Pretty romantic jaunt if I do say so myself. A much needed reprieve from the stress of our recent crisis’.

Then as I write this Chad is home from work because the company car’s AC is out. And I’m sitting here typing this while my back right wisdom tooth is just throbbin’ away.

Yeah, it’s been a long couple weeks!  😀

Since blogging almost 2 years, I’ve begun to see life differently. Now when crisis hit or weird things in my life happen, I ask myself,”Would this make a good blog??” For example:

1. Did your water heater die and car bite the dust on the SAME DAY? Blog it!

2. Did you leave a cup of coffee in the dead car for three days? Drink it and blog the results! (After googling the effects of three day old coffee on the body 😉 )

3. Has your stubborn cat refused to take her pill and you are about to pull your hair out? Send her to her aunt’s house with pill instructions and go on vacation! (OK, some situations don’t merit a good blog 😛 )

It’s like I’ve begun to say recently, “It’s not a crisis, it’s a bloggertunity!”

Chad recently ran with this concept and on my birthday presented me with new internet domains with “bloggertunity” in the address. I don’t know what we’ll do with these, but I’m kicking around a couple of ideas I’ll share later.

So dear reader, if you are having trials in your life, don’t think of them as crisis….they are just bloggertunities!! So just start writing and keep watch for the rainbow to burst through the clouds.

I’m rooting for you. Remember you are never alone. 😉

Cheers!

 

 

Leave a Reply

