Lulabelle Cooks Without a Net: Pretzel M&M Cookie Bark….

Now, in full disclosure this recipe was originally for just straight cookies, but I had to call it what it turned into, a brittley bark like sweet cookie yumminess. Why didn’t these turn into regular cookies that everyone on the planet can recognize?

You should know by now that it’s simply because I was the one that baked them.

Of course. πŸ˜‰

This blog entry idea came about after I watched one of my favorite YouTubers bake a batch of cookies. Tanya Burr, a beauty vlogger, also has a baking channel and made these amazing looking cookies that I just had to replicate, with a twist of course.

The twist being Burr actually made the cookie dough from scratch and this mama doesn’t have time to do all that!! (Plus I had enough trouble with just pre-made dough and trying to keep Riley from climbing onto the baking pan to eat it. I was almost successful. So far he’s not gotten sick so apparently kittens can eat a smidge of raw cookie dough without any ill effects πŸ˜› ). I also left out the peanut butter because of an in house allergy and we were out of almond butter. If I make these again–scratch that, WHEN I make these again, I’ll add in some almond butter.

So for my recipe you will need 1 log of sugar cookie pre made dough (I used Pillsbury), a package of regular M&M’s and a package of thin pretzel sticks.

Place the cookie dough on a cookie sheet according to the package directions. Or do it however you want. I tried to follow the package directions, but I didn’t realize cutting cookie dough into even slices would be so difficult. I ended up putting the entire package onto one sheet and when the cookies baked there wasn’t enough room between them, so they basically baked up to form one giant rectangular cookie. Add a cape and your giant cookie can now fight crime. πŸ˜€

Ok, let’s back track. Before putting the cookies in the oven, but after spreading them on the sheet, take a couple M&M’s and pretzel bits and push them down onto the top of the cookie. I managed to get 4 tiny pieces of pretzel and 3 M&M’s on each cookie. I’m sure that if you are better at executing directions than I am, you’ll be able to fit more on.

So now your cookies are ready to bake per the instructions on the back. While they are baking, use this time to corral the kitten who has decided that he really wants to take a swan dive off the top of the refrigerator just to see if he can do it.

When the oven timer dings (let me backtrack again–set the oven timer after putting in your cookies), carefully take them out of the oven and hold them in one hand while you frantically clear a space on the counter since the kitten is not strong enough to jump that high yet. Putting them on the table would just lead to an emergency vet visit later that same night. So after unplugging the toaster and shoving it against the back wall, you finally can set down your cookies and take a break while you wait for them to cool.

Don’t wait too long. I got distracted by an episode of CSI: Crime Scene Investigation and when I went to take the cookies off the sheet, they had definitely cooled, but had also somehow adhered themselves to the cookie sheet. When I took a spatula to them, I had to push really hard and they didn’t separate into individual cookies. I basically had the equivalent of cookie bark, hence the last minute title change.

The taste? Oh my goodness!! SO good. The sugar cookies and chocolate pieces were sweet, but the pretzel pieces added a savory note that helped the over all cookie not be too sweet.

I will definitely be making these cookies again. In a way I have to….I have another log of cookie dough in the fridge. πŸ˜‰

Cheers!

PS: Happy belated birthday to my new niece Rosie who I’ll be making these cookies for the moment that she can have sugar β™₯

 

Leave a Reply

