Lulabelle Cooks Without a Net: Apple Pie Smoothie…..

Well, I’m at it again. But this time, this one is pretty good. I promise.

No, I’m serious. Stay with me.

This one has our usual suspects of yogurt, milk, spinach and one lonely banana (that’s all we had) added for thickness.  To this I added frozen apples that came from our backyard, brown sugar (roughly 1/6th of a cup. Keyword, “roughly”), and eyeballed portions of cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg. Finally, I found where our protein powder was hiding and added that in. No measuring required because I lost the measuring cup that comes with it.

Now I was a bit skeptical of using frozen apple slices because I wasn’t sure they’d blend properly. But I didn’t want to cut them down further for fear of cutting myself. So I dumped them in and hoped for the best.

It turned out to be an awesome decision. Especially since it was pretty humid yesterday and the end result was very refreshing.

So I combined all those ingredients and blended the mixture for a few seconds. The end result was an icy, refreshing thing that was not really a smoothie consistency, but chunkier.

Not unlike an apple-pie gazpacho. Ok, I promise it tastes better than I’m describing.

Seriously.

So I originally made this yesterday and had some leftover today. The mixture had separated as it always has, but instead of pouring it into a cup and drinking it, I put it back on the blender base and blended it together again for about 10 seconds. It combined together like it had been the night before.

This ones a keeper, guys. Seriously.

Bon-appetit’ y’all!

the-beef_o_1131339

**My smoothies may not all be winners, but at least they are salmonella free! 😀 Image appears courtesy of google image search

Leave a Reply

