Lulabelle Reviews: Lay’s Flavor Swap Contender: Flamin’ Hot

Before we get into it today I have a few confessions:

#1: I’ve already tried this flavor as I had a salty craving the other day and they were just sitting there on the counter…..whispering my name. It was creepy but I couldn’t resist. I did have to call in a priest to exorcise the bag so it’d quit whispering my name and the procedure was a success.

#2: I wasn’t looking forward to doing this one. I took one look at the package and maybe recoiled slightly. The only thing I could think of that I thought these would taste like are those Flamin’ Hot Cheetos that took elementary schools by storms about 8 years ago and have since been banned in several school corporations due to students getting chest pains and weirdly colored stool after eating them. Yep, definitely something I’d like to subject myself to…..but for the sake of my blog….. 😛

Upon opening the bag, I definitely smell a smoky BBQ smell. The taste is also smoky BBQ with quite a bit of heat. The heat lingers on the tongue for a good little bit. The closest thing I can compare it to is Open Pit BBQ sauce, in chip form. Fun fact, I grew up eating Open Pit BBQ sauce on home made macaroni and cheese. For some reason my palate can’t handle that combination anymore. Ah, growing up is sad sometimes. 😦

So, our oldest cat has been glued to my side the whole time I’ve been writing this and she’s been curious about what is in the bag. Now I’ve made sure she didn’t eat any of the chips and have moved the bag away from her several times. She just licked my finger–of the hand that held a chip– and then looked at me with this expression on her face like, “Mom, why did you let me do that??” She’s currently at the water station trying to quench the smoke coming out of her face.

That’s actually one of the benefits of this flavor. They are so hot that you can only eat a couple before you have to stop and drink a glass of milk. And my threshold for spicy is pretty high 😉 . That said, if you  are watching your portion control, these would be the chips for you. Also if you are trying to kick-start an overdue labor, keep these on hand if a long walk, drinking castor oil and doing “other activities” don’t work ;-).

Happy Eating!

Photo on 2016-03-31 at 19.19

PS: FTC Disclosure: This is not a sponsored post. All products were purchased with my hard earned cash that I make chasing around and changing the diapers of little children who want to be doing literally anything else rather than getting their diaper changed.

PPS: No cats were harmed in the making of this blog and some events that were discussed in the preceding blog may have been stretched for artistic license. It amazes me that I even have to say this, but then again we do live in a world where ironing companies have to put a disclaimer on the iron box, telling you to not iron clothes while wearing them.

I ‘merica 😛

Leave a Reply

