Lulabelle Reviews: Lays Flavor Swap Contender: Korean Barbecue…..

Ok, this year Lay’s has turned it’s annual contest on it’s head. I feel like they aren’t even trying anymore. Not that the first contest, to create their newest flavor, really made much of an impact. It can’t really do much when the winning flavor is only available for a few weeks after the contest ends (I’m looking at you, Wasabi Ginger πŸ˜‰ ). Although my sources tell me that this flavor has found it’s way back onto shelves in limited stores. I’ll be making a trip soon to validate this story.

So what is Lay’s doing this year to freshen up their battle of the flavors?? They are taking one new flavor and an old flavor and having the public vote on which stays and which goes. Honestly I’m not for sure which flavor is old or new, so my review will be based solely on taste and smell. And how the chip makes me feel about my life choices :-D.

Chad picked up a few bags of chips for me last week so here we go. Today’s flavor of choice: Korean Barbecue. Let’s do this…..

Let me quickly state that I’ve actually never had legit Korean barbecue, so I really don’t know what I’m going after. Upon opening the bag and taking a whiff, I definitely smell a baked potato smell with a little bit of a spicy element and a tinge of grease. Definitely food-trucky smelling. If you’ve ever been by a food truck, this will make sense.

The taste is a light barbecue pork flavor, the tiniest touch of heat and it finishes off with a little bit of smoke. The after taste is tangy with an after buzz of heat on the tongue.

I hope these will be available long after the contest is over because an occasional bag of these would really enhance my otherwise mundane life. πŸ™‚

Bon Appetite, ya’ll!!

Photo on 2016-03-17 at 15.13

**This flavor has been deemed delicious and given a 4 paw rating by the resident culinary expert, Her Royal Highness Princess McFussy-Butt πŸ˜€ **

Leave a Reply

