Blog-a-versary and Coping With Long Hours Part Duex

(7:12PM EST) Bloggers Note: Ok kids, I can already tell that this is not gonna go up before GMT kicks in so the date on today’s blog will be 2/12 even though it’s still 2/11. I keep trying to upload earlier, but my schedule right now won’t let me. Hopefully this will change soon…..

Hey guys, guess what?? Can you believe that today marks my one year anniversary for blogging? Or blog-a-versary if you will. When the Lord first laid this blog on my heart, I wanted to be obedient but I didn’t know how long this would last. It’s still amazing to me that I’ve had so many things to write about in the last year and that my posts have helped so many. I am currently in the process of finding a publisher for my book (I still can’t believe it’s actually coming together as quick as it has) and am looking forward to helping more people in the next year through my blog. Thank you for being a part of this journey.


So yesterday I laid out some ways to focus your thinking when you have a spouse that works long hours. Today I thought I’d make a list of things you can do to help encourage your spouse while they work long hours. This list is certainly not complete as I’m sure there are other things I’ve not thought of, but these are things I’ve found that have helped encourage Chad during this season: 

1. Love notes: My primary love language is words of encouragement, so I got this one on lock ;-). When your spouse is at work, write out little encouraging notes for them on post-it notes and stick them around the house for them to find. Alternatively if you’ve been together for a long time, write down a memory on each note from your life together. This will also help you remember why you are together, since the season of working long hours can be draining to your psyche.

2. Help them get ready for their shift. In our house this includes making sure his coffee container is full and, on the days he takes his lunch/dinner, making sure it is packed. Also making sure his uniform is freshly laundered is a helpful thing you can do. (Sidenote: While some may argue getting your husband’s clothes and food together to go to work is part of a subservient role, please realize that that attitude is pure horse-pucky! 😛 A successful marriage is two people who share the workload. You are partners. You both hustle!)

3. Pray with them. Prayer is one of the most supportive things you could do to encourage your spouse.

4. Try and follow their schedule. When they sleep, you sleep. I know this one is a bit out there, but if you don’t have a job outside your home or you work from home and you can have a flexible schedule, try to follow their schedule. In this way you can have time together. I would, however, recommend that you don’t follow their sleep schedule to a tee. Overlapping is the better approach. Go to bed a bit earlier than they do and get up before they do so you are able to get a load of laundry started or the dishes done.

Following these tips has helped us get through this season so far. We hope the same for you. Remember, you are NOT alone.

Cheers!

Tune that is appropriate for today appears courtesy of Youtube

Leave a Reply

