To the Newlywed Whose Spouse Works Long Hours

There is snow on the ground, our oldest cat has been walking around sneezing and hissing at anything that moves and I just got bit. Yep, just another typical Wednesday! While she’s taking what I hope to be a LONG nap, let’s get into our topic of the day…..

Before I got married I had visions of making lavish dinners and having the house clean and dinner on the table when Chad came home from work. Oh, and I’d  be doing this while wearing a vintage dress and high heels circa 1950’s. Fast forward to now and reality is much different. I can’t wear high heels, I can count on one hand the number of dinners we’ve had sitting at the dinner table, and our idea of “lavish” is instant mashed potatoes jueged up with fresh garlic, basil and red pepper flakes. And now that I’ve accidentally given away the recipe for my famous mashed potatoes, I’ll have to add another ingredient to throw you off. 😛

More recently though, Chad and I have had dinners separately. Yes, we are still madly in love(and still dancing in the checkout aisle 😉 ). But life has come in and made our routine a bit, in the words of Phoebe from FRIENDS, floopy. We’ve become more nocturnal and are in a season where we can’t spend as much time together as we’d like.

As I’m sure there are other couples out there that are in the same boat, I thought today I’d make a list of things to encourage you if your spouse is in a season of working long hours.

1. Don’t let Satan steal your joy and fill you with the lie that your spouse doesn’t love you and that is why they are working long hours.

2. Focus on the big picture. In this season realize that because of the long hours, your bills are being paid and your savings (and emergency fund) are being built and strengthened. Trust the Lord. You can’t see what is down the road, but He can. Maybe there will be unexpected bills from car breakdowns or water pipe bursts. Or you may need to take the cat into the vet because she won’t stop sneezing. Working long hours will allow you to do this without going further into debt.

3. Lean on your support system. Ideally this would include at least one other person that also has a spouse working long hours. God has blessed me with the best sisters-in-law who are in the same boat as I am and they are an amazing resource on days when I need encouragement.

4. Pray for your spouse. I’ve said this before, but now more than ever does your spouse need spiritual encouragement for strength and stamina.

5. On those frustrating days when you miss your spouse and start filling with resentment, take a deep breath and repeat this mantra: “This is for the greater good and is just a temporary situation”

I know having your spouse work freakishly long hours is hard, especially if you’ve just said, “I do.” But I promise the list above can help take the edge off.

Remember you are not alone. 🙂

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

