Jesus, Wine, and the Brilliance Behind the Red Solo Cup….

A coin toss? Yep, last night the democratic side of the Iowa caucus was decided by coin toss. Don’t believe me? Click here. I know, I’m just as surprised as you that it’s not an article in The Onion. Word on the street is she’ll pick her running mate by throwing a flaming lawn dart from a distance of 100 ft, blindfolded, onto a foam canvas affixed with the faces of potential candidates while former President Bill Clinton plays a rousing rendition of When The Saints Go Marching In. God Bless America!!……….. 😀


So yesterday I wrote about my wine experiment that went awry. Today, I thought we’d flesh out the topic of wine more. Specifically as it relates to followers of Jesus. Then I’ll tell you the story of why I bring my own wine glass to gatherings.

Honestly I was torn whether or not to tell this story because alcohol use is a divisive issue in the church. Specifically the denomination I was raised in. I grew up believing that good Christians never drank, and carried this belief into adulthood. I discovered at an embarrassingly late age what the Bible actually says about alcohol use. That it’s permitted as long as one doesn’t get drunk.

My first taste of wine was in college during a family Christmas dinner. After that for years I only ever drank alcohol once a year; Christmas day with my family. Through the years I realized I preferred red over white. Then I had sangria for the first time and fell in love. Now, occasionally when we go out to eat, if sangria is on the menu, I’ll order it. But I only drink it out of an appropriate glass. And ALWAYS bring a wine glass with me when I know wine will be served at an event.

This tradition of BYOG (bring your own glass) began after an incident at a Christmas function several years ago that has become a bit of folklore, but I swear it’s true. So, Chad and I were invited to a Christmas party thrown by friends from our small group. I was excited because they mentioned that sangria would be served. Unfortunately Chad had to work the night of the party, so I tagged along with friends.

It was a great party. Trays of food, live Christmas music playing on the piano, and of course, sangria. The only cups available were festive red Solo cups. Without much thought, I grabbed a cup, filled it with sangria and drank. I may have had two. Which seems perfectly reasonable until you consider that I filled them up slightly fuller than a typical wine glass portion. How did I know I had made a mistake? Well, when I started laughing at any and all noises I heard, I realized that I probably had a bit too much to drink. I hesitate to say I was exactly drunk, but definitely tipsy. Thankfully the friends that I rode with didn’t drink at all so I had a safe way home.

The story became something my friends and I would laugh over.

A few months later, the same friend who drove me home private messaged me this graphic on Facebook:

fc63bc48839b45e90c016c55785806c1

Of course we had a good laugh over this. I had no idea the marks meant something. Actually according to Snopes.com (my go-to website for fact-checkery) this line explanation is completely coincidental, but I still think this makes a lot of sense.

So my friends, that is the story of why I now bring my own wine glass to gatherings. And never drink anything alcoholic out of those demon red cups. 😀

Cheers!

 

3 thoughts on “Jesus, Wine, and the Brilliance Behind the Red Solo Cup….

  1. Pingback: Lulabelle Cooks Without a Net…But Should Have In This Case: You Had Me at Merlot | be-anxious-about-nothing

Leave a Reply

