A New Role: Strategies for the New Housewife

Before we get into our topic of the day, I wanted to tell you about what I discovered last night. A few blogs ago I reviewed Poo-Pourri toilet spray. While we had a so-so experience with it, I realized last night that this toilet spray does double “doody” (see what I did there? πŸ˜‰ ) by working as a pretty great trash can deodorizer. Gently mist Poo-Pourri in your garbage can and yucky trash smells will drift away. You’re welcome πŸ™‚


Our topic of the day deals with strategies for coping when you are transitioning from a traditional job to being a housewife. First off, this is not a step down position by any means. Taking care of the house is something that is desperately needed and a role that is very fulfilling. But there are some things to keep in mind to ease this transition:

1. Make sure you get out of the house as least once or twice a week. Whether it be a standing coffee date with a girlfriend or going grocery shopping with your spouse, it’s important that you get out of the house on a regular basis. This will help you keep in touch with your social circle beyond your house and keep your mind mentally healthy.

2. Take regular showers. I know this one seems like a no-brainer, but somedays it’s tempting to just stay in your pj’s all day (I’m definitely guilty of this one πŸ˜‰ ). Some days that is what you need, but there really isn’t anything like taking a shower and feeling refreshed.

3. If you are a cat parent, housewife and blogger and your cat is interfering with you writing your blog; (read: the cat refuses to be anywhere else other than right between your face and the computer), take a break from writing and go do the dishes. (Full disclosure: This may be happening in real time πŸ˜€ )

4. Housework can be a bit boring everyday somedays. Making a habit of turning on music or the TV to keep you focused while you work helps make these tasks go by quicker. Alternatively, you can skip this step, do a chore and then reward yourself with your favorite TV show. I recommend watching it with a bag of chocolate covered potato chips. If you want to go healthy, they also make chocolate covered raisins.

Ok, I gotta get going. The cat is all up in my grill and before I inhale anymore of her hair, I should probably get up and finish washing the dishes. πŸ˜€Β 

Cheers!

e65bee04980f7bfe192fd7a25423098f

Doesn’t exactly go with our theme today, but it’s a personal mantra for my husband and myself. Seriously. I have a t-shirt that says this and we also have the phrase on a clock. In the kitchen. We are punny. (Although coffee does help my housewifery skills. Oh and this image appears on my blog courtesy of: pinterest.com )Β 

4 thoughts on “A New Role: Strategies for the New Housewife

  1. Gosh. What a subservient position you are in. Get married. Can’t work. That is a step down.
    What about doing something for you – something more challenging than cleaning a toilet.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Like blogging for almost a year and taking care of two cats that are pretty dependent? Plus babysitting for those couples that desperately need a night out? Challenge accepted. πŸ˜‰ And I did work for several years in a traditional job, but when the Lord asks you to do something else, you do it. Trust me, I’m one of the biggest feminist’s you’ll ever meet. I believe women can do and be what they want. If that is accepting a call to be a housewife, then so be it. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. I think this is very good advice for anyone transitioning to a stay-at-home way of life. I struggled with the transition going from 40+ hours, 5 days a week to 3 12-hour shifts. So, I’m sure someone making the full transition would benefit from the advice here. Not subservient at all…I mean, not once did you mention cooking his food, ironing his underwear or anything else that puts a spouse above oneself. These are basic, take-care-of-you ideas.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

