Lulabelle’s Ice Cream Battle Extraordinaire!! Wendy’s Vanilla Frosty vs. Dairy Queen Soft Serve

Over the weekend I conducted an experiment. For a long time my husband and I have had a debate, “Which Frosty from Wendy’s is the best, chocolate or vanilla?”

Wendy’s restaurant debuted the original chocolate Frosty in 1969. The flavor of chocolate is actually a bit deceptive, as the original Frosty is actually a mix of chocolate and vanilla, according the Wendy’s Wikipedia page. The flavor of vanilla debuted in 2006.

Now, truth be told, I’m a bit of a purist when it comes to my Frosty. When vanilla debuted, it seemed a bit of a sacrilege really. Then several years later, I met and fell in love with a man who preferred the vanilla. This suddenly made for a very confusing world.

Then one day curiosity got the better of me, and after going through a Wendy’s drive thru with my husband, I decided to throw caution to the wind and try out the new Frosty. Of course I didn’t order a whole one for myself, I ordered the real thing   chocolate and tasted a small sample of my husband’s fake one vanilla Frosty. It was at this moment that I realized something crazy….the vanilla frosty tasted to me JUST LIKE Dairy Queen’s vanilla soft serve!! I swear it was like Wendy’s went into the DQ headquarters after dark, broke in and stole the recipe for their soft serve!!

Ever since then, I’ve wanted to do a direct comparison of DQ soft serve and Wendy’s vanilla Frosty. This past weekend I got my chance. With an assist from the spouse, the experiment began:

(It should be noted that I intended to input a photo of both products here. As I attempted this, I realized I have yet to put them on my computer and the camera I used is not in the house. #bloggerfail. I’ll upload the photo later this evening!)

Phase 1: The Blind Taste-Test

Both samples of ice cream were put in front of me. Both the same size. Both contained plastic spoons (although if we had to do it again, we’d get the exact same spoon for each sample as the DQ spoon we used has a unique curve that you can feel even when your eyes are closed. Despite this anomaly, the experiment continued…you know, for science and stuff 😀 ) Before testing each sample, my palate was cleansed thoroughly with water.

I was able to correctly guess which was which. While both have I’d say the same flavor, there is a definite consistency difference that separates the two ice creams. Which leads us to:

Phase 2: Noting the Differences: Declaring a Winner

DQ soft serve has a smoother and thicker quality to it, while the Wendy’s Vanilla Frosty is a bit icier, with a somewhat grainy texture. However the flavors are remarkably similar, with the soft serve sample ending with a bit more of a sour after-taste.

With our experiment done, I can now say that the DQ soft serve is the over-all winner. If I want vanilla soft serve ice cream, I’m going to go to Dairy Queen every time. For a Frosty fix, you’ll still find me at Wendy’s ordering the original chocolate version.

Our next experiment will be to see if we can turn a vanilla Frosty the original by only adding chocolate syrup. Maybe also whipped cream. After all, this is all in the name of scientific advancement. Yeah. 😉

 

Leave a Reply

