Lulabelle (Begrudgingly) Reviews: Lay’s Do Us A Flavor Contender: New York Reuben…..

I really didn’t want to do this one. But I did three out of the four, so it only made sense. I really hate sauerkraut that much. The funny thing is I used to LOVE reuben sandwiches in college. Then it happened. I found out they contained sauerkraut. From that day on, I saw them in a different light. They became the thing that had the thing that I didn’t like. So I haven’t had them since. So when I saw that Reuben sandwich was one of the flavors, I thought, “well, that’s the one I’ll avoid.” And then I started reviewing the flavors on my blog and I was stuck. So, let’s get into it so I can finish and deplete some of our emergency chocolate stash that I just located.

Ok, opening the bag (I didn’t wanna do this…but the sooner I do, the sooner I can eat chocolate), the only smell I can decipher is, Lord help me, sauerkraut. Maybe it’s my heavily slanted bias going in, but I’m midway through the bag and I’m not able to pick up any other flavor. And I’m really trying. The only other flavor that I can detect, and I may have made this one up to try to cover the sauerkraut flavor, is a slightly sweet barbecue sauce. But the after-taste is definitely stinky kraut. I even accidentally dropped a tiny crumb on the floor and our oldest cat curiously stuck it in her mouth, and immediately spit it out. Considering what else she licks on a regular basis, this spoke volumes. Let that sink in for a moment. 😀

So, this flavor I have to give a failing grade. Not only because I hate the main ingredient, but that is the only ingredient I can taste. Maybe I can smell a bit of rye-ness, but it’s overpowered by the sauerkraut.

So there you have it. If I had to pick my favorite of the 4, I’d probably go with Southern Biscuits and Gravy. And yes, I’m as surprised as you are. Have you tried any of the new flavors? What was your favorite?? Let me know in the comments below!

Happy Eating!

Photo on 2015-08-31 at 16.48

Leave a Reply

