Lulabelle Reviews: Lay’s Do Us A Flavor Contender: Wavy West Coast Truffle Fries…..(What the Duck??)

Hey guys! Before we begin today, I have an apology to make. I am sorry that yesterday’s entry contained several glaring grammatical errors. There really is no excuse for this, but here is mine; my in-house editor was delayed in coming home. I would have asked our oldest cat to proof-read my post, but the last time that happened, her fees were so high, we had to remortgage our house. Lesson learned. 😀 

Now, today’s flavor has me in a bit of a quandary. See, being a midwest girl, I’ve never actually tasted truffles (truffles are a type of fungus related to mushrooms), and have no idea really what they are supposed to taste like. However, I have had mushrooms, so I’ll be basing my review on truffle’s close relative.

This chip is wavy, which is a style I enjoy. Upon opening the bag, my husband and I both agreed that the overall aroma of these chips reminded us of sour cream and onion potato chips. Savory with a hint of something else. These also at first taste like sour cream and onion chips, but there is a fungally, meaty quality to them in the after-taste. Which leads me to my next point; Although these chips don’t claim to contain any source of meat on the front, a quick perusal of the ingredient list led me to realize they contain chicken and, no kidding, duck fat. DUCK. FAT. So if you are vegetarian or vegan and are a potato chip connoisseur, you should pass on this bag of chips. **Sidenote: Dear PETA, please don’t blacklist this blog, I’m just the messenger!** 😛 

Another factor of note; these chips contain a hint of parmesan cheese. However, the taste is expertly hidden in the overall taste of the chip. If you aren’t a fan of parmesan but want to try these chips, taste away. But you may want to introduce the chips to the parmesan adverse without mentioning the presence of parmesan, unless of course there is a dairy allergy. I go through this anytime I find a snack that I think my husband (parmesan adverse) would enjoy, but the offending cheese is listed as an ingredient. Only after the food is eaten and thoroughly enjoyed do I mention the parmesan. As a result, he’s begrudgingly included several new foods into his eating routine. 😉 

So, three flavors down, one to go. So far I’ve enjoyed them all for different reasons. On Monday I’ll try the last flavor: New York Reuben. I used to love Reuben sandwiches until I learned they had sauerkraut in them. I hate sauerkraut. May God have mercy on my soul! 😛

Happy Eating!

Photo on 2015-08-27 at 17.10

**PS, I’ve been assured that the Aflac duck was not injured in the making of these chips. Although, if he had been, that would have been a great excuse for that insurance! 😀

*FTC Disclaimer: Chips of delciousness were purchased by me. All opinions are my own.

 

Leave a Reply

