Lulabelle Reviews: Lay’s Do Us A Flavor Contender: Southern Biscuits and Gravy Potato Chips…..

It could have been an episode of Fear Factor. My husband and I were on our way to Michigan for vacation when we stopped into a Subway restaurant to get some dinner. If you live in the states, you are quite familiar with Subway–a sandwich shop that lets you customize your sandwich with a plethora of ingredient options. I normally order a sandwich and add avocado to it. Doesn’t matter what kind.

In addition to sandwiches your way, Subway also offers potato chips, specifically Lay’s. Now, Lay’s recently started a nationwide contest to invent the newest flavor of chip. The contest lasted a few months and just recently the 4 finalists were announced and available in stores. The best thing about getting these chips at Subway is that they come in a small size, so if you can’t stand the flavor you selected, your commitment is minimal.

This year the flavor finalists are: West Coast Truffle Fries, New York Reuben, Kettle Cooked Greektown Gyro, and, the most disturbing flavor to me when I first saw it; Southern Biscuits and Gravy. Being the most disturbing flavor, the moment I saw it in Subway, I had to try it. In no other aspect of my life am I a dare-devil except when it comes to food. I grew up eating macaroni and cheese with BBQ sauce on top, and I tried deep-fried squid for the first time in college on a dare.

11873904_10155943352635300_1365867001_n yep, that really is me. Terrified of a bag of chips.

Opening the bag of chips and sniffing them, I was really impressed. They smelled EXACTLY like biscuits and gravy! A food which I LOVE. But I was still a bit reluctant to taste them as I just couldn’t wrap my head around a chip tasting like my favorite breakfast fare. But being the adventurous eater I am, I soldiered on. Besides, taking one for the team is sometimes a good thing, especially if it produces a good blog later. 😉

The taste was surprisingly spot on to how biscuits and gravy taste. Being made from potatos, there was a hashbrown-y vibe infused in each chip which was quite delightful. I’m really curious now if they’d be good paired with catsup. The flavor of black pepper was also present; reminiscent of the real thing.

So all in all, I’d give these chips a big thumbs up, but they should be enjoyed responsibly. That being said, here is a word of warning…..make sure to carefully select the food you eat after tasting these chips as the resulting after taste can be a bit unsettling. The only food I had after eating these chips was a regular chocolate Frosty from Wendy’s. I can’t quite describe the after taste, I just know it left me confused and unsettled. I recommend eating these chips with a sandwich, but not a sweet dessert. If you have to eat something sweet after consuming these chips, make sure to wash them down with water beforehand.

Happy Eating!! 🙂

11880311_10155943352595300_180144338_n
“Hey, Mikey! She likes it!!”

*FTC Disclaimer: Chips were purchased by me. All opinions are my own. (Along with the opinion that Lay’s needs to bring these back)

Leave a Reply

