Healing From A Toxic Working Environment……

After a brief summer respite, I got back into babysitting hard-core this weekend and I have a confession to make: I was pretty anxious about it leading up to the day of. I had feelings of “Can I really do this? I’m probably gonna mess this up somehow. Maybe I’ve gotten in over my head.” For some reason it didn’t seem to matter that I had sat for this family before many times with positive results.

Undoubtedly, my anxiety over this past weekend stems directly from my last regular job experience. My last supervisor really tore me down. Making me feel on a daily basis that I didn’t know how to properly do my job. That I was nothing. I’m learning that as much as I hate how my treatment back then is still affecting me now, I’ve become surrounded by people who believe in my ability to do the job I was called to do. Who encourage me every day.

I know some might say that by now I need to just get over what happened and move on. But for someone with anxiety, experiences like the above can linger long after you’ve removed yourself physically. After hearing my story, a few have suggested it sounds like I have some PTSD, and I think that’s an accurate description. Although I’m reluctant to bat that term around so lightly when I’ve never been in combat or physically abused.

So, if you are struggling with self-confidence in your employment, take heart. Here is a list of things to remember:

1. You would not have been hired had you not been competent to do the job you do. If new management comes in and feels like you aren’t doing your job correctly, unless it is constructive criticism, remember who hired you and why. You are valuable and competent 🙂

2. Remember these words from Eleanor Roosevelt, “No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.” If your supervisor is treating you poorly, and you are doing your job well, take it up the chain of command.

3. Continue to show up and do your job. Show up on time and treat everyone with respect. If it comes to it, quietly begin looking for new employment.

4. If you get to the point that you just can’t take it any longer, there is no shame in quitting. Give at least two weeks notice.

At the end of the day, you will more than likely find a job where your skills will be appreciated. Keep this in mind. And for the new kind employers, thank you for encouraging your staff. Thanks for the votes of confidence and for the praise. These are the things that heal a bad work experience more deeply than you know.

Cheers!!

Sitting-at-work-like---meme

*The Office–once again reminding us of the importance of math (freakin’ jerks! 😛 ) appears courtesy of: www.jokideo.com

 

Leave a Reply

