Oh What The Heck!

Good morning! It just occurred to me that I have a rather full day today, so I decided to knock this one out early. A note from yesterdays post about meeting my husband: I hadn’t realized it till my husband pointed it out, but I wrote yesterday’s post on what was the anniversary of the day I sent him the first message on the dating site where we met. Awwww!! ♥♥♥ 

Many moons ago I wrote about how I’ve coped with anxiety in my life. One of these coping mechanisms, television, is something I still enjoy today. One of my favorites? It’s a little show called, The Middle. The Middle tells the story of a working class family living in the midwest–smack dab in the middle of the US–and all the trials they face. There is Frankie the mom, Mike the dad, and kids: Axl, Sue and Brick. Nope, that’s not a typo. Their youngest son is named Brick.

Not only is the writing overall genius, but the way the characters are written gives a pretty accurate depiction–with a few embellishments–of what it means to be a family. It is messy and imperfect, but at the end of the day, you still remain a team. My favorite character? Sue. I love Sue. She has the distinction of having her first and middle name be the same. Yes, her full name is Sue Sue Heck. In season 4 it is explained that she ended up with this name because it was mistakenly written down this way on her birth certificate.

But the thing I love most about Sue Heck? She never freakin’ gives up! Like ever. This is inspiring to me, someone who lives with anxiety, when part of my anxiety comes from the thought of trying new things. Sue goes out for EVERYTHING in school. In spite of never making anything. Her luck changed a bit when she went out for cross-country simply because there was a no cut policy. She made the team. Then there was the time she went out for the cheerleading squad and later received a call that she had made the team. It was a mistake. Instead of falling down in a puddle of tears, Sue went to the school and pleaded with the principal to let her organize another cheer team…for the wrestlers. And so the Wrestlerettes were born. But my favorite moment for Sue was when she was in a contest to win a car. It was one of those things where you had to keep one hand on the car and the last person to remain would win. You guessed it. Even after being stung by bees and getting a wicked sunburn, Sue won the prize. Although it turned out not to be a car, but a trip to Disneyland. She was ecstatic.

When I grow up, I wanna be like Sue. Fearlessly confident and brave, no matter the outcome. May we all strive to Sue Heck our way through this thing called life.

Sue_dorky_gif_2

As always you are never alone. I’ll see you tomorrow!

Cheers! 🙂

gif courtesy of themiddle.wikia.com

Leave a Reply

