Take a Blessing and Put it in a Jar

Ever have one of those days? You know what I mean–those days that you just feel kinda blah. Low energy and just feeling a bit blue? I’m having one of those days today, which is weird because this is one of the first times this week that the sun is shining so bright, I happily opened the window. Someone else seems to be enjoying the sun as well. 😉

“Excuse me dahling, could I trouble you for a refreshing sparkling water?

Days like today it’s important to remember a few things. One, this blah feeling is more than likely temporary and will pass. Secondly, you have so much to be thankful for. Which leads me to our topic of the day: counting our blessings.

Sometimes I have days that I feel so down in the dumps, the feeling that God is no longer moving in my life and I get so discouraged. Last year I came up with a solution that I hope will help you during times of doubt. I made a Blessing Jar.

It’s simple. I took a mason jar, washed and dried it, and then I labeled it with a Bible verse that would consistently remind me of God’s goodness and provision. Ephesians 3:20,

Now to Him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to His power that is at work within us,” (NIV)

10171059_10152965738463638_7819350761739371973_n

Every time you receive a blessing ie, a bill is paid off, you get a raise, or your spouse reminds you why you married them, write this down on a piece of paper, with the date and put it in the jar. On days, like today, where doubt begins to set it, go to the jar and read your blessings aloud.

I like to start a new jar every New Years Day and keep it for a year. I’m excited to go back years from now and read about what the Lord has done for us during our marriage.

I hope this idea has helped to pull you out of a funk today. Know that you are loved SO much and you are NOT alone.

Cheers!

One thought on “Take a Blessing and Put it in a Jar

  1. Pingback: Blessing Jar 2016: Something Different….. | be-anxious-about-nothing

Leave a Reply

